Entre Nous

24 novembre, 2009

Pronoms relatifs après prépositions

Filed under: GRAMMAIRE — db @ 3:47
Tags:

Relative pronouns – after prepositions

1 Dont

Dont is the equivalent of  : of which or whose in English – it stands as a part of a
relative clause introduced by de
:

C’est le professeur de la fille  La fille dont il est le professeur …

J’ai acheté la voiture de Paul   Paul, dont j’ai acheté la voiture, …

Il vous a parlé de l’affaire        L’affaire dont il vous a parlé …

Nousn’étions pas satisfaits du repas              Le repas dont nous n’étions pas satisfaits ..

Note that dont is not used when it is part of a longer phrase containing another
preposition, such as à côté de quelque chose:

La femme à côté de qui j’étais assis … [and not *La femme à côté dont …]

The woman next to whom I was sitting ...

 

2 The structure of dont clauses

The relative pronoun dont is always the first word of the relative clause. This
contrasts with the English of which used to express possession, which is
preceded by the thing possessed:

La personne dont le nom m’échappe pour le moment …

 

Nouns with which dont is used to indicate possession are always preceded by the definite article (le, la, les), whilst in equivalent English clauses involving whose no article is used. English learners of French often wrongly add a possessive adjective:

La femme dont le [and not *dont son] nom m’échappe pour le moment …

 

3 After prepositions except de

Where the relative pronoun stands as a part of a relative clause introduced by a
preposition other than de, the rules are as follows:

 [Preposition] + qui is used for people:

Tu parlais à l’homme    L’homme à qui tu parlais …

 

 [Preposition] + lequel, laquelle, lesquels or lesquelles is used for things:

Je me trouve dans une situation difficile      La situation difficile dans laquelle je me trouve …

 

Note that à + lequel contracts to auquel:

Le guichet auquel il fallait m’adresser …

 

Quoi is used after prepositions when the relative pronoun refers to a fact or idea
rather than to a person or thing:

Je lui ai dit que je n’aimais pas Sarkozy, à quoi il a répondu que …

I told him that I didn’t like Sarkozy, to which he replied that …

 

Pour aller plus loin :

 

 

Laisser un commentaire »

Aucun commentaire pour l’instant.

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Laisser un commentaire

Créez un site Web ou un blog gratuitement sur WordPress.com.

