Entre Nous

20 février, 2010

Etre vs Avoir

Filed under: CONJUGAISON,GRAMMAIRE — db @ 12:00
Tags: ,

To Be and To Have Retour sur ces deux verbes auxiliaires

I am Je suis We are Nous sommes
You are Tu es You are Vous êtes
He is/She is/One is Il est/Elle est/ On est They are They are Ils sont/Elles sont

I was j’étais We were nous étions
You were tu étais You were vous étiez
He was/She was/One was il était/elle était/on était They were ils étaient/elles étaient

Je and any verb form that starts with a vowel (or silent h) combine together for ease of pronunciation.

I will be je serai We will be nous serons
You will be tu seras You will be vous serez
He will be/She will be/One will be il sera/elle sera/on sera They will be/They will be ils seront/elles seront

You must use the subject pronouns; but I will leave them out of future conjugations.

I have j’ai We have avons
You have as You have avez
He/she has a They have ont

I had j’avais We had avions
You had avais You had aviez
He/she had avait They had avaient

I will have j’aurai We will have aurons
You will have auras You will have aurez
He/she will have aura They will have auront

In spoken French, the tu forms of verbs that begin with a vowel contract with the pronoun:

  • tu es = t’es
  • tu as = t’as, etc.

In addition, it is very common to use on (plus 3rd person singular conjugation) to mean we instead of nous.

Laisser un commentaire »

Aucun commentaire pour l’instant.

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Laisser un commentaire

Créez un site Web ou un blog gratuitement sur WordPress.com.

