Entre Nous

22 mars, 2015

Le Présent du Conditionnel

Filed under: CONJUGAISON,GRAMMAIRE — db @ 12:00
Tags: ,

Conditional Present

The present conditional tense corresponds to « would. »

It is used after the imperfect in a conditional sentence.

Most conditional sentences begin with si (if).

Si j’étais (imperfect) plus riche, est-ce que je serais (conditional) plus heureux ?

If I were richer, would I be happier?

 

However, do not confuse the conditional would with the would that expresses a repeated action in the past.  If would means used to, then the imperfect tense is used.

Quand nous étions (imperfect) en vacances, nous dormions (imperfect) jusqu’à midi.  When we were on vacation, we would (used to) sleep until noon.

To form, use the infinitive and add the imperfect endings.  But remember to drop the -e on –re verbs.

-ais -ions
-ais -iez
-ait -aient

Also, you use the same irregular stems and exceptions for the conditional that are used for the future tense.  You may have noticed that the future and conditional forms for je is pronounced by most people in the same anyway.

EMPLOI

1. Le conditionnel permet d’exprimer des désirs :

J’irais bien manger des fruits de mer.

Elle achèterait bien une nouvelle robe.

2. On utilise le conditionnel dans la presse et dans les médias pour parler des nouvelles non-confirmées:

Qantas aurait fait faillite.

Les prix du baril de peetrole seraient en baisse.

3. On l’utilise aussi pour exprimer la conséquence d’une condition:

Si je changeais de travail, je ne pourrais plus prendre ma voiture.

Si tu faisais la cuisine, j’irais au restaurant.

Je finirais le travail rapidement, si tu m’aidais.

Now a bit of practice

 

Laisser un commentaire »

Aucun commentaire pour l’instant.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Laisser un commentaire

Créez un site Web ou un blog gratuitement sur WordPress.com.

