Entre Nous

24 août, 2016

Y et En

Filed under: GRAMMAIRE — db @ 7:25
Tags:

Y et En Y and en are both pronouns that go before the verb. They replace prepositional phrases.

  • Y means it or there. the phrases will begin with à (or any contraction of it),en, sur, sous, chez, or dans for y;
  • En means some or some(of them), or of it. de(or any contraction of it) or a number for en.

They cannot replace people unless the person is introduced with an indefinite article, partitive, number or quantity.Remember that they go before the verb, except in a command, in which they follow the verb and are connected with a hyphen. The -er verbs also add the-s they lost when forming the you (familiar) command.

Do you want some something? Tu veux quelque chose?
Do you want some? En veux-tu?
I have dix euros. J’ai dix euros.
I have dix (of them). J’en ai dix.
It is in the bag Il est dans le sac.
It is there. Il y est.
I am going to Detroit. Je vais à Détroit.
I am going there. J‘y vais.
I am going to go to town. Je vais aller en ville.
I am going to stay there. Je vais y rester.
Answer the telephone! Répondez au téléphone !
Answer it! (formal) Répondez-y !
Go there! (familiar) Vas-y !
Don’t stay there! (familiar) N’y reste pas.

Rappel

y and en don’t go after the verb in negative commands.

Treat them like pronouns.

  • Je + y becomes j’y,
  • Je ne y = je n’y
  • Je + en = j’en
  • Je ne+en = je n’en

When you havea conjugated verb plus an infinitive (vais and aller), the y or en go in between the two verbs.

  • Il va en prendre
  • Il va y aller

Disjunctive pronouns (pronoms disjonctifs; moi, toi, lui/ elle / soi, nous, vous, eux / elles) are used:

  • In the absence of any verb, when a pronoun is meant to stand onits own, or in exclamations, when the verb remains in the infinitive:

    Qui veut m’aider ? — Moi, moi !Eux ? Ils ont bien trop peur pour y aller tout seuls.Toi ! Faire le tour du monde en deux mois ? Tu me faisrire…

  • To add emphasis to a sentence-initial non-pronoun subject or object.The disjunctive pronoun follows the non-pronoun subject orobject, between two commas:

    Jacques, lui, n’y va pas.Bertrande, elle, je ne la vois plus depuis qu’elle sortavec Félix.

  • To add emphasis to an otherwise unstressed subject or object pronoun.The disjunctive pronoun is usually foundat the beginning ofa sentence, separated from it by means of a comma. It may be placedat the end of a clause to emphasize a subject or a direct objectpronoun, but this usage is mainly found in the spoken language, andis relatively informal:

    Toi, tu commences vraiment à m’énerver!J’ai rien fait, moi !Elle, je l’ai beaucoup aimée quand j’étaisjeune.Je l’ai beaucoup aimée, elle, quand j’étaisjeune.Vous, je ne vous fais pas confiance. Vous êtes méchant!

    The English technique which consists of merely speaking up, i.e.raising one’s voice to add stress to an otherwise unstressed pronoun,is not allowed in French.

  • To add emphasis to a possessiveadjective. The preposition à is required betweenthe noun which follows the possessive, on the one hand, and the disjunctivepronoun, on the other hand:

    Moi, je ne voulais pas venir, mais toi, tu n’as pas voulu m’écouter,alors nous voilà bien coincés et c’est de tafaute à toi !

    In this instance, the English technique of raising one’s voiceto add stress to a possessive adjective, may be used as an alternative.

  • Instead of an unstressed subject pronoun, in multiple subjects(sometimes recapped by means of a single subject pronoun):

    Mon frère et moi (, nous) ne nous voyons plusque deux ou trois fois par an.Elle et toi, vous allez bientôt vous marier ?

  • In the emphatic construction C’est, often followed by quior que:

    Coucou, c’est moi !C’est lui qui l’a fait, cela ne sert à rien d’accuserquelqu’un d’autre.C’est toi quej’ai vue, l’autre jour, devant le cinéma.

  • In a comparative construction, after the conjunction que,or in the pseudo-negativeexpression ne … que:

    Sa femme gagne plus d’argent que lui, mais çalui est égal.Je n’ai que toi dans la vie… et ma collection de timbres-poste.

  • Before seul, before and after même (a hyphenmust be used if même follows), and in a negativeexpressioncontaining ni … ni …:

    Eux seuls savent la réponse à cette question.Même toi, tu ne saurais le faire. Evenyou couldn’t do it.Toi-même, tu m’as dit que tu sais le faire. Youyourself told me you can do it.Ni elle ni moi ne le ferons.Je n’ai vu ni lui, ni vous.

  • After all prepositions other than à and de:

    Viens avec moi, on va s’amuser !

    Chacun pour soi, et Dieu pour nous tous !

    ça fait deux semaines que ma cousine habite chez vous.

    Anne s’est assise à côté d’eux.

  • After the preposition à, when the use of either an indirect object pronoun or of the pronoun y is not allowed
  • After the preposition de, when the use of the pronoun en is not allowed

Un commentaire »

  1. Bonjour, j’adore vraiment ce que vous faites je me demande comment j’ai pu rater votre blog

    Commentaire par voyance par mail — 8 juin, 2015 @ 10:34 | Répondre


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Laisser un commentaire

Créez un site Web ou un blog gratuitement sur WordPress.com.

